Projects and Funding

Photo courtesy of: Atuat Shouldice

Funded Projects

The over-arching objective of Nunavut General Monitoring Plan (NGMP) is to provide for the collection, analysis and dissemination of information regarding the state and health of the eco-systemic and socio-economic environment in the Nunavut Settlement Area.

NGMP provides funding to projects related to these topics through a proposal submission process. In this way, NGMP contributes to the establishment of baseline data and the continued collection of data required for monitoring environmental changes in Nunavut over time.

Access to Funding

Project proposals are submitted to the steering committee for review. The steering committee reviews each proposal for merit, and determines funding allocations. The annual allocation of funding is subject to a variety of factors and is made available based on the project's support of monitoring and community capacity building activities that are applicable to NGMP's priority objectives, core functions, and key activities.

Eligible recipients include communities or their members, Inuit organizations, academics, Nunavut's Institutions of Public Government, territorial government departments and agencies, and non-governmental organizations. For-profit organizations, such as consulting firms or industry, as well as federal government departments and agencies are only eligible for funding as members of a partnership with one or more eligible organization as described above. A proposed project must be led by an eligible recipient to be eligible for NGMP funding.

For more detailed information, please contact the NGMP for a copy of the current Proposal Submission Guidelines.

NGMP Initiatives

In addition to performing general monitoring tasks through awarding grants and contributions, the NGMP Secretariat also dedicates some internal operation and maintenance funds, along with funds from other monitoring partner-organizations where possible, to perform general monitoring tasks where gaps have been identified. These are called NGMP Initiatives and the NGMP Secretariat takes a leading role in managing the projects in collaboration with partner organizations.

Baker Lake Basin Cumulative Effects Monitoring Program (2014 – ongoing)

This watershed-based monitoring program for the Baker Lake Basin is a collaborative partnership between the NGMP, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)'s Nunavut Water Resources Division, and the Kivalliq Inuit Association. The objective of the program, started in 2014, is to create a watershed management strategy. This strategy will be achieved by developing a long-term monitoring program to identify cumulative effects and by determining how to mitigate the impacts as development increases in the region. A framework and preliminary program for regional watershed-based monitoring in the basin was developed in 2013. Phase 1 of the preliminary program focuses on start-up and operation of a monitoring program utilizing current knowledge from both western science and Inuit traditional knowledge (Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit).

The Baker Lake Basin Indicators Workshop, held in September 2014, included a variety of stakeholders from the Baker Lake area and focused on scientific aspects of the monitoring program. Consideration of the role of Inuit traditional knowledge in the aquatic monitoring program will be addressed through a subsequent workshop.

Following the Baker Lake Basin Indicators Workshop in September 2014, the focus of work in 2015-16 is the development of an Inuit traditional knowledge sub-program, including community consultations and an Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit workshop scheduled for 2016.

Regional Socio-Economic Monitoring Committees StatPlanet Data Map (2013- 2015)

Regional Socio-Economic Monitoring Committees (SEMC) were created jointly by the Government of Nunavut's Department of Economic Development and Transportation and INAC to respond to increased levels of resource development within Nunavut. There are committees for each of Nunavut's three regions: the Qikiqtani, Kivalliq and Kitikmeot. These committees are tasked with monitoring the socio-economic impacts of major resource developments as well as general socio-economic trends and indicators within their respective regions. Undertaking these tasks necessitates a reliance on up-to-date data sources, indicators, and a comprehensive mapping/database system.

Beginning in October 2013, NGMP took the leading role to develop an interactive map program now available on the SEMC website. The program allows for the comparison of socioeconomic valued component indicators using data from publicly available sources. The project was completed in May 2015 with the Nunavut Statistics Bureau being primarily responsible for maintenance and updating, though NGMP will continue to support the mapping program.  

Date modified:

Projets et financement

Photo reproduite avec l’aimable autorisation d’Atuat Shouldice

Projets financés

L'objectif général du Plan de surveillance générale du Nunavut (PSGN) consiste à assurer la collecte, l'analyse et la diffusion de l'information concernant l'état et la santé de l'environnement écosystémique et socioéconomique de la région du Nunavut.

Le PSGN finance des projets reliés à ces thèmes au moyen d'un processus de soumission de propositions. Ainsi, le PSGN contribue à l'établissement de données de référence et à la collecte continue des données nécessaires à la surveillance des changements environnementaux au Nunavut.

Accès au financement

Les propositions de projet sont présentées au Comité directeur à des fins d'examen. Le Comité directeur examine le bien-fondé de chaque proposition et détermine l'attribution des fonds. L'attribution annuelle de fonds dépend de plusieurs facteurs et de l'appui que donne le projet aux activités de surveillance et de renforcement des capacités de la collectivité qui s'appliquent aux objectifs prioritaires, aux fonctions essentielles et aux activités clés du PSGN.

Les bénéficiaires admissibles sont les collectivités et leurs membres, les organisations inuites, les universitaires, les institutions publiques du Nunavut, les ministères et organismes du gouvernement territorial du Nunavut et les organisations non gouvernementales. Les organismes à but lucratif, notamment les sociétés d'experts-conseils ou l'industrie, ainsi que les ministères et organismes du gouvernement fédéral ne sont admissibles qu'à titre de membres d'un partenariat formé avec au moins une des organisations admissibles indiquées ci-dessus. Tout projet proposé doit être dirigé par un bénéficiaire admissible pour pouvoir obtenir une aide financière dans le cadre du PSGN.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le PSGN qui pourra vous faire parvenir une copie à jour des Lignes directrices pour la soumission des propositions.

Initiatives du PSGN

En plus de ses tâches générales de surveillance par l'octroi de subventions et de contributions, le Secrétariat du PSGN consacre une portion des fonds de fonctionnement interne et d'entretien, ainsi que des fonds d'organismes partenaires dans la surveillance, le cas échéant, à l'exécution de tâches générales visant à combler les lacunes constatées en matière de surveillance. Il s'agit des Initiatives du PSGN, dont les projets sont gérés par la direction du Secrétariat du PSGN, en collaboration avec les organismes partenaires.

Programme de surveillance des effets cumulatifs dans le bassin de Baker Lake (2014 – en cours)

Le programme de surveillance du bassin hydrographique de Baker Lake est un partenariat entre le PSGN, la Division des ressources hydriques du Nunavut d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) et l'association inuite de Kivalliq (KIA). Le programme, lancé en 2014, vise à établir une stratégie de gestion du bassin hydrographique. Cette dernière consistera en l'élaboration d'un programme de surveillance à long terme visant à déterminer les effets cumulatifs et les moyens d'atténuer l'incidence du développement croissant de la région sur l'environnement. Le cadre et le programme préliminaire de surveillance régionale du bassin hydrographique ont été mis au point en 2013. La première étape du programme préliminaire se concentre sur le démarrage et le fonctionnement d'un programme de surveillance utilisant à la fois les connaissances issues de la science occidentale et le savoir traditionnel des Inuits (Qaujimajatuqangit inuit).

L'atelier de travail sur les indicateurs du bassin de Baker Lake, tenu en septembre 2014, a réuni une grande diversité d'intervenants de la région de Baker Lake et était axé sur les aspects scientifiques du programme de surveillance. La prise en compte du rôle des connaissances traditionnelles des Inuits dans le programme de surveillance aquatique sera abordée dans un atelier de travail ultérieur.

À la suite de l'atelier de travail sur les indicateurs du bassin de Baker Lake, qui s'est tenu en septembre 2014, les travaux s'articuleront, en 2015-2016, autour de l'élaboration d'un sous-programme sur les connaissances traditionnelles des Inuits qui comportera des consultations auprès des collectivités et un atelier sur les connaissances traditionnelles des Inuits, prévu en 2016.

Carte de données StatPlanet des comités régionaux de surveillance socioéconomique du Nunavut (2013-2015)

Les comités régionaux de surveillance socioéconomique (CSSE) ont été créés conjointement par le ministère du Développement économique et du Transport du gouvernement du Nunavut et AANC en réponse à l'intensification de la mise en valeur des ressources au Nunavut. Chacune des trois régions du Nunavut – Qikiqtani, Kivalliq et Kitikmeot – a un comité. Les comités sont chargés de surveiller les répercussions socioéconomiques des principaux projets de mise en valeur des ressources ainsi que les indicateurs et les tendances générales socioéconomiques dans leur région respective. Pour réaliser ces tâches, ils doivent s'appuyer sur des sources de données et des indicateurs à jour, et un système de bases de données et de cartographie complet.

Depuis octobre 2013, le PSGN a pris la tête de l'élaboration du programme de carte interactive, consultable sur le site des Comités de surveillance socioéconomique (en anglais seulement). Le programme permet de comparer les indicateurs des composantes socioéconomiques valorisées au moyen de données provenant de sources publiques. Le projet a été terminé en mai 2015. Le maintien et la mise à jour du projet relèvent principalement du Bureau de la statistique du Nunavut, mais le PSGN continuera d'appuyer le programme de cartographie.

Date de modification :